UltiTalk.Com

General => Ulti Strategy => Topic started by: mrdeucie on May 10, 2012, 11:14:55 AM



Title: Rule Question: Contested Travel
Post by: mrdeucie on May 10, 2012, 11:14:55 AM
Is there any penalty on the defense for calling a travel on the offense?  Seems like it is a win win situation for the defense, but poorly spirited, for them to just call travel on almost any play.  If you are the offense there is nothing you can do to contest a travel call, from what I know. 

Scenarios
  • Travel is called and the disc is caught by the offense, throw goes back to the thrower.
  • Travel is called and it is either not caught or D'ed, it's a turnover and the defense gets the disc

A fellow player and friend here discussed this with me, but thinks that the penalty on defense for calling a travel on a play is that if it gets d'ed or is not caught it still goes back to the thrower, but from my reading of the USAU rules, it seems like that is not the case and the continuation rules applies, i.e., we wait to see what happens to the disc after the throw.

Your thoughts on this matter would be appreciated.

Thanks.



Title: Re: Rule Question: Contested Travel
Post by: DesignatedDecoy (DD) on May 10, 2012, 11:55:29 AM
Welcome to SOG.  What you just described goes against the core of Ultimate and thereby shouldn't happen.  Just like a thrower initiating contact on a throw just because he was at a high stall count.


Title: Re: Rule Question: Contested Travel
Post by: mrdeucie on May 14, 2012, 02:26:02 PM
Agreed that it is against SotG, but what is the recourse for the offense and there is no way to contest a travel call right?


Title: Re: Rule Question: Contested Travel
Post by: Rygard on October 05, 2013, 11:48:41 PM
Contested or non-contested, the outcome is the same, so it's really a moot point.  The disc is returned to the thrower, and the count is resumed after a check.  If a travel is called and the disc is turned over (dropped, out of bounds, D'd, etc) it would stand as a turnover.  It is win-win for a  defense.  If you are playing a team who does not play by the rules, I would contact your league or tournament director, or request an Observer.  In an Observed game, the observer can overrule a travel call if he agrees it to be in error.


SimplePortal 2.1.1