UltiTalk.Com

General => Ulti Strategy => Topic started by: slgerber on July 03, 2013, 10:28:56 PM



Title: Where to take the disc if caught out of bounds behind end zone?
Post by: slgerber on July 03, 2013, 10:28:56 PM
At a recent game a handler pivoted out of bounds (legally) and hucked deep aiming for the near side back corner.  The disc never came in bounds and his intended receiver jumped from in bounds and caught the disc but landed out of bounds behind the end zone.  This is a turn over of course but where does the defense put the disc in play since the disc never came back in bounds?  If the disc was untouched it would go back to the midfield sideline but we decided that it should go to the front end zone line since the offensive player did take off from in bounds and caught the disc but landed out.  Is that correct?

In the case of long throws like this where the entire flight path is out-of-bounds would it not be good advice to tell receivers to always attempt to dive from in bounds in an attempt to at least touch the disc in order to prevent a large loss of field position on the turnover?  I always tell defenders to avoid touching this kind of a long throw (unless the offense has a real chance of making a play) in order to gain field position.

What about a slightly different case?  What if the long curving throw would curve just enough to pass inside the back cone briefly entering airspace above the back corner of the end zone before landing out the back.  Would the disc be taken to the front end zone line again rather than the midfield sideline since it did, however briefly, pass through playing field airspace again?

Thanks for any clarification,
Steve


Title: Re: Where to take the disc if caught out of bounds behind end zone?
Post by: Rygard on October 05, 2013, 10:48:31 PM
If it was caught before he landed out of bounds, it is considered in play until he lands, so the disc would be put into play at the nearest spot of the field (e.g. straight up from the spot where he landed on the front of the endzone). If he lands out of bounds before the has control of the disc, it would go back to where it left the playing field - e.g. the sideline where it went out. That assumes that the disc never entered the space over the playing field at all. I believe if it crossed over the back cone of the end zone it would be put into play on the front of the endzone where it crossed back out of bounds. Hope that helps.


SimplePortal 2.1.1