UltiTalk.Com

Regional => Australasia => Topic started by: Az06 on February 18, 2009, 01:08:43 AM



Title: WFDF Marking violation
Post by: Az06 on February 18, 2009, 01:08:43 AM
I am looking for peoples opinions on the following rule:

16.2.1.5. "Double Team" - two defensive players are within three (3) metres of the
thrower’s pivot point when no other offensive player is within three (3)
metres of either defensive player.

Does this mean, as an example, if an offensive player (receiver) runs into a cup, and two defenders follow him, the thrower (who has a mark, 1st defender) is not being double teamed as the 2nd and 3rd defenders are marking the receiver.

OR

Is the marker still being double teamed as there are 2 offensive players and 3 defensive players within 3 meters of the disc?

thanks

Az


Title: Re: WFDF Marking violation
Post by: wally on February 18, 2009, 06:18:44 AM
No double team.  As long as those defenders are within three metres of a second offense, they aren't double teaming.  You can have 7 defensive players within three metres of the thrower as long as there is another offensive player within three metres of 6 of them.


Title: Re: WFDF Marking violation
Post by: DavidG on February 18, 2009, 06:23:25 AM
I would say that even if 2 D players follow the 1 O receiver into within 3 metres of the man with the disc, it's not a double team d/t the presence of that extra O player. Despite there being potentially 3 D players all within 3 metres of the the guy with the disc.


Title: Re: WFDF Marking violation
Post by: Tenk283 on February 21, 2009, 02:08:54 AM
Not a double team.

Its a loophole every exploits while playing zone... Well, you exploit it if you are smart. Its in the rules, therefore you can do it and I haven't run into anyone that thinks it is "unspirited".


Title: Re: WFDF Marking violation
Post by: wally on February 22, 2009, 06:31:41 AM
It's not a loophole, it's a rule.


Title: Re: WFDF Marking violation
Post by: s0urce on February 23, 2009, 11:32:23 AM
no double team, the defenders are marking their offense.. not the thrower.

Side note:  UPA rules last year were revised to state that as long as you're not facing the thrower, you can be within the double-team zone of 10 ft.  Pretty much to address the issue of offense leading defense into the double-team "area"


SimplePortal 2.1.1