UltiTalk.Com
Welcome to the ULTIMATE Ultimate Frisbee forum. October 19, 2019, 10:36:15 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

The ultimate forum for talking about Ultimate Frisbee. Aimed at bringing new life to the world of Ultimate Frisbee discussions, UltiTalk.Com (UT) combines both regional and international topics in one friendly place. So say hello to UT: The International Ultimate Frisbee forum.

Register your FREE UltiTalk.Com account to reveal the members-only Shout Box, Chatroom, and more!
Where are you? Pin yourself on the UltiTalk Member Map.
 
 
  Home Help Search Calendar Members Links Gallery Login Register  
Visit UltiTalk.Com on TwitterVisit UltiTalk.Com on Facebook

  Show Posts
Pages: [1]
1  General / Ulti Talk / Re: Frostie Cold Weather 175gram Ultimate Disc on: October 22, 2012, 03:06:07 PM
These discs are pretty nice in cold weather. And yes, it's noticeable. The disc isn't bone-breakingly hard anymore. You'll notice if you get your hands on one of these indoors that they're much softer but once they're outside in near-freezing temperatures, it feels closer to a regular disc on a warm day.

Though I prefer Discraft in general, these are the only Daredevil discs that I'll gladly play with when the cold weather hits. Come October in Canada, I'll bring them out as the temperature dips under 10C.

But once winter hits... we head inside to the heated domes where regular discs are just fine.
2  General / Ulti Talk / Re: Rules - Questions on: June 29, 2011, 09:00:16 AM
If the contact happens after the release of the disc, this is generally not a foul on either thrower or marker. This is clearly outlined in 11th edition rules (XVI.H.3.a.5)

However, there is an argument for dangerous/reckless play if the thrower attempted a throw that would almost certainly cause contact on follow-through in a 'dangerous/reckless' way. That would be a tough one to call though especially if you're moving into it.

3  General / Ulti Talk / Re: Rules - Questions on: May 24, 2011, 02:55:44 PM
Regarding just an uncontested foul, I'd use the below:

X.B If a team gains or retains possession in the end zone that they are attacking other than by scoring a goal in accordance with rule XI, the player in possession must carry the disc directly to, and put it into play at, the spot on the goal line closest to where possession was gained.

X.C If a team gains or retains possession of a dead disc in the end zone that they are attacking, the disc is checked into a live state where the infraction occurred, and the thrower then proceeds according to X.B.

Regarding a strip:

XI.A.2 When an in-bounds player in possession of the disc whose first ground contact will be completely within the end zone loses possession of the disc due to an uncontested foul, or lands out of the end zone due to an uncontested force-out foul (XVI.H.3.b.4), that player is awarded a goal.

XVI.H.3.d Strip: If a defensive player initiates contact with the disc after an offensive player has gained possession of the disc, and the offensive player loses possession as a result, it is a strip. A strip is a subset of fouls and is treated the same way.

-----------
So my understanding is that a team that retains possession due to an uncontested receiving foul, it is still not a point. But on an uncontested strip where, by definition, the player had possession (because that is the definition of a strip), it is a point as per XI.A.2.

The biggest difference being whether the receiver had clear possession of the disc or not as the foul/strip was incurred.

But heaven knows if there's another rule that I missed that supersedes what I've quoted above.

fez
4  General / Ulti Strategy / Re: Question about Rules on: May 24, 2011, 02:11:43 PM
I saw a long thread on another forum once regarding whether a defender running into their receiver, who had just slowed down abruptly, was a foul on the receiver or the defender. I think the result was that the defender was at fault for following as closely -directly behind- their receiver.

If, in your situation, you actually stopped and changed directions and moved into his intended path (in a dangerous fashion), I'd say that you fouled the defender.

But as Seppo mentioned, there is no such thing of 'the first foul wins.' I think there is a rule that states that if opposing players call foul on the same play, or regarding the same incident, that it is treated as a contested foul.

fez

5  General / Ulti Talk / Re: Rules - Questions on: May 24, 2011, 01:55:52 PM
I may be wrong but I always thought regarding 1)...

If the foul is uncontested, you gain possession at the point of the infraction and then must walk the disc back to the nearest point on the goal line and put the disc back into play (no point).

There is only one exception to this and that is if the 'foul' was in fact a strip and it is uncontested. If that is the case, it is a point.
Pages: [1]





Advertise on UT!



Register your FREE UltiTalk.Com account to remove these ads!
Change language to English Change language to Brazilian Change language to Chinese-Simplified Change language to Danish Change language to Dutch Change language to English Change language to Finnish Change language to French Change language to German Change language to Greek Change language to Hebrew Change language to Hungarian Change language to Indonesian Change language to Italian Change language to Japanese Change language to Norwegian Change language to Polish Change language to Portuguese Change language to Romanian Change language to Russian Change language to Spanish Change language to Swedish Change language to Thai Change language to Turkish Change language to Ukranian Change language to Vietnamese

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
UltiTalk.Com is the #1 forum and bulletin board for talking about, chatting about and discussing Ultimate Frisbee.
Please help spread the word to promote an international community of Ultimate Frisbee players, coaches and teachers.


Site Design By MWM Consulting, Inc. MWM Consulting, Inc.



Google last visited this page May 12, 2019, 02:02:07 AM
SimplePortal 2.1.1