Welcome to the ULTIMATE Ultimate Frisbee forum. May 31, 2020, 11:54:09 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

The ultimate forum for talking about Ultimate Frisbee. Aimed at bringing new life to the world of Ultimate Frisbee discussions, UltiTalk.Com (UT) combines both regional and international topics in one friendly place. So say hello to UT: The International Ultimate Frisbee forum.

Register your FREE UltiTalk.Com account to reveal the members-only Shout Box, Chatroom, and more!
RSD syndicated. North American UT posts are syndicated on the newsgroup Rec.Sport.Disc.
  Home Help Search Calendar Members Links Gallery Login Register  
Visit UltiTalk.Com on TwitterVisit UltiTalk.Com on Facebook

  Show Posts
Pages: [1] 2
1  General / Ulti Talk / Re: What if the defensive teams blocks it but then the offensive player catches it on: August 06, 2012, 12:28:30 PM
The offense retains possession of the disc.
2  General / Ulti Strategy / Re: Contested In/Out or Score on: May 17, 2012, 01:31:59 PM
That's the rule, I believe, so it's really up to you to argue with the receiver the merits of them having best perspective.
3  General / Ulti Strategy / Re: Rule Question: Contested Travel on: May 14, 2012, 02:26:02 PM
Agreed that it is against SotG, but what is the recourse for the offense and there is no way to contest a travel call right?
4  General / Ulti Strategy / Re: Foot blocking on: May 10, 2012, 11:25:23 AM
Until you release the disc, the disc is an extension of your body, so yes it is a foul if the marker comes in contact with the disc before you have released it.  This is how I understand it under the USAU rules, not sure if WFDF is different.
5  General / Ulti Strategy / Re: Contested In/Out or Score on: May 10, 2012, 11:19:22 AM
As the other poster said it is usually the person with the best perspective and in most cases, the person that caught the disc is usually going to argue that they had best perspective. 
6  General / Ulti Strategy / Rule Question: Contested Travel on: May 10, 2012, 11:14:55 AM
Is there any penalty on the defense for calling a travel on the offense?  Seems like it is a win win situation for the defense, but poorly spirited, for them to just call travel on almost any play.  If you are the offense there is nothing you can do to contest a travel call, from what I know. 

  • Travel is called and the disc is caught by the offense, throw goes back to the thrower.
  • Travel is called and it is either not caught or D'ed, it's a turnover and the defense gets the disc

A fellow player and friend here discussed this with me, but thinks that the penalty on defense for calling a travel on a play is that if it gets d'ed or is not caught it still goes back to the thrower, but from my reading of the USAU rules, it seems like that is not the case and the continuation rules applies, i.e., we wait to see what happens to the disc after the throw.

Your thoughts on this matter would be appreciated.


7  General / Ulti Media / Re: Wildwood "Beach" Ultimate tourny '09 PHOTOS on: July 29, 2009, 10:13:53 PM
As promised, here are my pictures from the weekend. 

8  General / Ulti Media / Re: The BEST Ultimate T-shirts on: July 28, 2009, 12:43:50 PM
thanks for the input, what about the material?
we are worried that we will order and not like the material?
the worst thing to do is order jersey and be pumped about it then when they come in, you hate them, their too short and fat, and hot to wear. its happened before.
any thoughts?

You can always see if they'll ship you a sample.  My league is looking for a vendor for our spring season to do some reversibles.  One of the potential vendors shipped us some samples and is also covering shipping back to them.  Unfortunately, we didn't like the material. 
9  General / Ulti Media / Re: Wildwood "Beach" Ultimate tourny '09 PHOTOS on: July 28, 2009, 11:42:57 AM
I have my pics up on Facebook right now, but I'll add them to Picasa soon so I can share on here also.

Char:  You missed a great time. 

10  General / Ulti Strategy / Re: When can a marker start stall count? on: July 27, 2009, 06:28:10 PM
People could then intentionally run/slide O/B and have their team get downfield while they took their time getting the disc in play.  The rule is there to ensure the defence still has a fair play on a disc that still remains in possession of the offence.

I don't understand your argument here.  Even if you were on defense, why would you not run after the person you were defending if the disc went out of bounds, there's no stoppage of play?  Sorry if I'm not understanding it.
11  General / Ulti Strategy / Re: Quick Vocab Question on: July 27, 2009, 06:17:40 PM
"Conservation of Greatness" sometimes.
12  General / Ulti Talk / Re: What is your favorite Ultimate Frisbee online resource? on: July 27, 2009, 05:26:45 PM
The Huddle is also one of my faves!
13  General / Ulti Strategy / Strip Fouls - Contest/No Contest on: May 28, 2009, 02:07:26 PM
There was a situation in a game I was watching where a defender stripped the disc from a receiver's hands and the defender contested the strip call.  I understand that when a strip foul is called in the endzone if it is a no contest the attacking team is awarded the point, but if it is contested by the defender the disc goes back to the goal line with the receiver. 

In the case where this happens outside of the end zone, does the disc go back to the thrower if the strip foul is contested or does it stay with the receiver?  If it stays with the receiver what is the point of calling a contested strip foul?  Can you contest a strip foul?

I understand under the 11th edition rules of the UPA, strips are now considered fouls and treated as such. 

One of the offensive players made the argument that if a receiver catches the disc and is being stalled, let's say for 5 seconds, and the marker knocks it out of his hand it obviously does not go back to the last thrower who threw to the receiver, but it is just restarted in play with the current thrower. 

Thanks for any insight you can provide.
14  General / Ulti Strategy / Re: The right way to bid? on: May 20, 2009, 01:29:55 PM
Too add to this question, is there a way to properly bid for a high disc say 4 feet (1.2m) and higher.  I'm only 5'6" (1.67m) in height.  I made a bid yesterday (no injuries of any kind) but looking at the stains on my jersey my stomach hit first then my knees.  I understand getting the chest down first for a low bid, but how do you do it with a high bid?
15  General / Ulti Talk / Re: Calling yourself in and out - which cones to look at? on: May 07, 2009, 12:23:00 PM
Thanks for all of the thoughts everyone.
Pages: [1] 2

Advertise on UT!

Register your FREE UltiTalk.Com account to remove these ads!
Change language to English Change language to Brazilian Change language to Chinese-Simplified Change language to Danish Change language to Dutch Change language to English Change language to Finnish Change language to French Change language to German Change language to Greek Change language to Hebrew Change language to Hungarian Change language to Indonesian Change language to Italian Change language to Japanese Change language to Norwegian Change language to Polish Change language to Portuguese Change language to Romanian Change language to Russian Change language to Spanish Change language to Swedish Change language to Thai Change language to Turkish Change language to Ukranian Change language to Vietnamese

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
UltiTalk.Com is the #1 forum and bulletin board for talking about, chatting about and discussing Ultimate Frisbee.
Please help spread the word to promote an international community of Ultimate Frisbee players, coaches and teachers.

Site Design By MWM Consulting, Inc. MWM Consulting, Inc.

Google last visited this page April 19, 2020, 11:19:34 AM
SimplePortal 2.1.1