UltiTalk.Com
Welcome to the ULTIMATE Ultimate Frisbee forum. September 19, 2019, 10:56:07 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

The ultimate forum for talking about Ultimate Frisbee. Aimed at bringing new life to the world of Ultimate Frisbee discussions, UltiTalk.Com (UT) combines both regional and international topics in one friendly place. So say hello to UT: The International Ultimate Frisbee forum.

Register your FREE UltiTalk.Com account to reveal the members-only Shout Box, Chatroom, and more!
Where was that post again? Stop searching and start bookmarking!  Save your favorite posts in My Bookmarks.
 
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Members Links Gallery Login Register  
Visit UltiTalk.Com on TwitterVisit UltiTalk.Com on Facebook

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 10
 31 
 on: July 03, 2013, 10:28:56 PM 
Started by slgerber - Last post by slgerber
At a recent game a handler pivoted out of bounds (legally) and hucked deep aiming for the near side back corner.  The disc never came in bounds and his intended receiver jumped from in bounds and caught the disc but landed out of bounds behind the end zone.  This is a turn over of course but where does the defense put the disc in play since the disc never came back in bounds?  If the disc was untouched it would go back to the midfield sideline but we decided that it should go to the front end zone line since the offensive player did take off from in bounds and caught the disc but landed out.  Is that correct?

In the case of long throws like this where the entire flight path is out-of-bounds would it not be good advice to tell receivers to always attempt to dive from in bounds in an attempt to at least touch the disc in order to prevent a large loss of field position on the turnover?  I always tell defenders to avoid touching this kind of a long throw (unless the offense has a real chance of making a play) in order to gain field position.

What about a slightly different case?  What if the long curving throw would curve just enough to pass inside the back cone briefly entering airspace above the back corner of the end zone before landing out the back.  Would the disc be taken to the front end zone line again rather than the midfield sideline since it did, however briefly, pass through playing field airspace again?

Thanks for any clarification,
Steve

 32 
 on: June 09, 2013, 09:34:18 PM 
Started by Diaphanous - Last post by Seppo
Hey Diaphanous,

First off, welcome to UT!  Smiley

You pose a good question.  In the scenario you've described, either foot can become the pivot.  In fact, I've seen this play a few times.  Righty picks up the disc with both feet on the ground, defender things their left foot is the pivot and then ... BOOM ... thrower executes a play with their right foot as the pivot (which gives them extra reach).  Perfectly legal.  A bit awkward for a righty to throw with a right pivot, but possible.  Very sneaky...

Doesn't really answer the root of the question, but at least gives some insight into your example.

Cheers!

- Seppo #22

 33 
 on: June 08, 2013, 05:26:12 AM 
Started by Diaphanous - Last post by Diaphanous
Hello everybody, I have a technical question.

I've seen discussions about changing your pivot foot after it has been established, but when is the pivot established?

According to UPA rules:

"Pivot: The particular part of the body in continuous contact with a single spot on the field during a thrower's possession once the thrower has come to a stop or has attempted a throw or fake. When there is a definitive spot for putting the disc into play, the part of the body in contact with that spot is the pivot."

Unfortunately this definition if a little bit vague.

Just imagine the following situation:
A player gains possession of the disc with both feet planted on the ground, and a mark begins the stall with a hard forehand force (for a righty). The player holding the disc fakes a right forehand without moving either of his feet. He then switches the disc to his left hand, steps out with his left foot, and throws a lefty flick around the mark.
Is this legal?

According to the rules, the pivot is established after the first fake - but if neither foot has left the ground, which foot is considered the pivot?

It seems to me that the establishment of the pivot occurs once all but one body part has lost contact with the ground, at which point the body part still in contact with the ground is the pivot. That is to say, if I throw a fake without having moved either feet since gaining possession of the disc, then I should be able to established either foot as the pivot after the throw.

 34 
 on: May 02, 2013, 02:34:59 AM 
Started by JustinFereshetian - Last post by BrookDle
It depends on the condition what kind of foul it is whether it has occurred before or after the disc recieved. For getting the detailed information about what kind of foul it is click here: http://www.experts123.com/q/is-an-uncontested-foul-in-the-end-zone-by-a-defensive-player-a-score-or-does-the-disc-come-out-to-the-goal-line.html

 35 
 on: May 02, 2013, 02:23:17 AM 
Started by lukehillson - Last post by BrookDle
Not us.

Although since starting the team, we've found out one of the GB Junior teams years ago were also called the Lemmings.

Cheers, Lucas.

 Smiley Lemmings are very good at this.

 36 
 on: May 02, 2013, 02:22:04 AM 
Started by Powski - Last post by BrookDle
That's really nice idea to search and meet your community members, I will try this.

 37 
 on: May 02, 2013, 02:21:18 AM 
Started by Celerus - Last post by BrookDle
That's the rule, I believe, so it's really up to you to argue with the receiver the merits of them having best perspective.

That's the ultimate truth about these game.

 38 
 on: May 02, 2013, 02:19:37 AM 
Started by Fafiq - Last post by BrookDle
I love indoor game concept.

 39 
 on: April 30, 2013, 11:20:02 PM 
Started by ulti1894 - Last post by ulti1894
Hey guys I'm writing a research paper for my english class. If you guys could take a few minutes to fill out this survey that would be awesome.
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1rrFNL58T6uLqCmGOt7k-G9aQDpcEQHs-Se7jcS33ueU/viewform

 40 
 on: April 26, 2013, 01:52:45 PM 
Started by Melonfarmer - Last post by Melonfarmer
Hey guys,
New to the site and i need some help. We have our spring league banquet coming up and i would like to give out some gag awards. I need some frisbee related ideas.

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 10





Advertise on UT!



Register your FREE UltiTalk.Com account to remove these ads!
Change language to English Change language to Brazilian Change language to Chinese-Simplified Change language to Danish Change language to Dutch Change language to English Change language to Finnish Change language to French Change language to German Change language to Greek Change language to Hebrew Change language to Hungarian Change language to Indonesian Change language to Italian Change language to Japanese Change language to Norwegian Change language to Polish Change language to Portuguese Change language to Romanian Change language to Russian Change language to Spanish Change language to Swedish Change language to Thai Change language to Turkish Change language to Ukranian Change language to Vietnamese

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
UltiTalk.Com is the #1 forum and bulletin board for talking about, chatting about and discussing Ultimate Frisbee.
Please help spread the word to promote an international community of Ultimate Frisbee players, coaches and teachers.


Site Design By MWM Consulting, Inc. MWM Consulting, Inc.



Google last visited this page July 29, 2019, 09:20:40 PM
SimplePortal 2.1.1