Is there any penalty on the defense for calling a travel on the offense? Seems like it is a win win situation for the defense, but poorly spirited, for them to just call travel on almost any play. If you are the offense there is nothing you can do to contest a travel call, from what I know.
- Travel is called and the disc is caught by the offense, throw goes back to the thrower.
- Travel is called and it is either not caught or D'ed, it's a turnover and the defense gets the disc
A fellow player and friend here discussed this with me, but thinks that the penalty on defense for calling a travel on a play is that if it gets d'ed or is not caught it still goes back to the thrower, but from my reading of the USAU rules, it seems like that is not the case and the continuation rules applies, i.e., we wait to see what happens to the disc after the throw.
Your thoughts on this matter would be appreciated.