UltiTalk.Com
Welcome to the ULTIMATE Ultimate Frisbee forum. July 24, 2014, 01:43:48 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

The ultimate forum for talking about Ultimate Frisbee. Aimed at bringing new life to the world of Ultimate Frisbee discussions, UltiTalk.Com (UT) combines both regional and international topics in one friendly place. So say hello to UT: The International Ultimate Frisbee forum.

Register your FREE UltiTalk.Com account to reveal the members-only Shout Box, Chatroom, and more!
Got time to chat? Try out the new UltiTalk Chatroom by clicking the Chat link.
 
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Members Links Gallery Login Register  
Visit UltiTalk.Com on TwitterVisit UltiTalk.Com on Facebook

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Del.icio.us Digg FURL FaceBook Stumble Upon Reddit SlashDot Google Bookmarks Ma.gnolia MSN Live Squidoo Yahoo My Web     Bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: Rule Question: Contested Travel  (Read 4210 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
mrdeucie
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 17



View Profile
« on: May 10, 2012, 11:14:55 AM »

Is there any penalty on the defense for calling a travel on the offense?  Seems like it is a win win situation for the defense, but poorly spirited, for them to just call travel on almost any play.  If you are the offense there is nothing you can do to contest a travel call, from what I know. 

Scenarios
  • Travel is called and the disc is caught by the offense, throw goes back to the thrower.
  • Travel is called and it is either not caught or D'ed, it's a turnover and the defense gets the disc

A fellow player and friend here discussed this with me, but thinks that the penalty on defense for calling a travel on a play is that if it gets d'ed or is not caught it still goes back to the thrower, but from my reading of the USAU rules, it seems like that is not the case and the continuation rules applies, i.e., we wait to see what happens to the disc after the throw.

Your thoughts on this matter would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Logged
DesignatedDecoy (DD)
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 7



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2012, 11:55:29 AM »

Welcome to SOG.  What you just described goes against the core of Ultimate and thereby shouldn't happen.  Just like a thrower initiating contact on a throw just because he was at a high stall count.
Logged
mrdeucie
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 17



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2012, 02:26:02 PM »

Agreed that it is against SotG, but what is the recourse for the offense and there is no way to contest a travel call right?
Logged
Rygard
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 7



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2013, 11:48:41 PM »

Contested or non-contested, the outcome is the same, so it's really a moot point.  The disc is returned to the thrower, and the count is resumed after a check.  If a travel is called and the disc is turned over (dropped, out of bounds, D'd, etc) it would stand as a turnover.  It is win-win for a  defense.  If you are playing a team who does not play by the rules, I would contact your league or tournament director, or request an Observer.  In an Observed game, the observer can overrule a travel call if he agrees it to be in error.
Logged

Jon Patterson
League Director
Colorado Core Ultimate
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Del.icio.us Digg FURL FaceBook Stumble Upon Reddit SlashDot Google Bookmarks Ma.gnolia MSN Live Squidoo Yahoo My Web     Bookmark  |  Print  
 
Facebook Comments

Jump to:  






Advertise on UT!



Register your FREE UltiTalk.Com account to remove these ads!
Change language to English Change language to Brazilian Change language to Chinese-Simplified Change language to Danish Change language to Dutch Change language to English Change language to Finnish Change language to French Change language to German Change language to Greek Change language to Hebrew Change language to Hungarian Change language to Indonesian Change language to Italian Change language to Japanese Change language to Norwegian Change language to Polish Change language to Portuguese Change language to Romanian Change language to Russian Change language to Spanish Change language to Swedish Change language to Thai Change language to Turkish Change language to Ukranian Change language to Vietnamese

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
UltiTalk.Com is the #1 forum and bulletin board for talking about, chatting about and discussing Ultimate Frisbee.
Please help spread the word to promote an international community of Ultimate Frisbee players, coaches and teachers.


Site Design By MWM Consulting, Inc. MWM Consulting, Inc.



Google last visited this page July 20, 2014, 10:44:04 PM
SimplePortal 2.1.1