UltiTalk.Com
Welcome to the ULTIMATE Ultimate Frisbee forum. April 06, 2020, 07:29:37 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

The ultimate forum for talking about Ultimate Frisbee. Aimed at bringing new life to the world of Ultimate Frisbee discussions, UltiTalk.Com (UT) combines both regional and international topics in one friendly place. So say hello to UT: The International Ultimate Frisbee forum.

Register your FREE UltiTalk.Com account to reveal the members-only Shout Box, Chatroom, and more!
Tweak it out. Customize the look and feel of UltiTalk by changing your Theme Settings.
 
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Members Links Gallery Login Register  
Visit UltiTalk.Com on TwitterVisit UltiTalk.Com on Facebook

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Del.icio.us Digg FURL FaceBook Stumble Upon Reddit SlashDot Google Bookmarks Ma.gnolia MSN Live Squidoo Yahoo My Web     Bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: Interesting Rule Question  (Read 8317 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Seppo
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +40/-10
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 602


Seppo and the BIG Check.


View Profile WWW
« on: March 21, 2007, 12:11:36 PM »

Yo, I found this on RSD.  Interesting question.

Quote
So as I was watching a video of ultimate, I came up with a theoretical
question.  Two people are running for a disc, one lays out for the d,
but crosses over to the other's path, while going for the disc.  He
mac's the disc though and doesn't completely knock the disc down, and
because he got tangled with the intended reciever the intended
reciever can't catch the disc which would have been easily catchable
were it not for the defender who layed out in his path.

What would happen?  Since it was not incidental contact (the contact
caused the intended reciever not to catch the mac'ed disc), but the
defender was there first for the d, I can see both sides of the
argument.

I think the macking of the disc is a crucial piece of this puzzle.  It comes down to the defender impeding the progress of the offensive player.  Initially, as the offensive player, I might call foul simply b/c there was contact made (probably pretty heavy contact as well I imagine).  But, in hindsight, I'd say the defender was in the right b/c he/she made a play on the disc itself (otherwise, what would prevent defenders from simply laying out to impede an offensive player's progress when the disc is not even in the vacinity).

Hmmmm....
Logged

========================
PlayUlty.Com
Educational and lifestyle products for Ultimate Frisbee.
http://www.playulty.com
========================
maxe
Newbie
*

Karma: +2/-1
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 17



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2007, 12:50:15 PM »

That was me who wrote that on rsd!
Logged
Seppo
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +40/-10
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 602


Seppo and the BIG Check.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2007, 05:38:03 PM »

Sweet!  Nice topic Maxe!  Cool
Logged

========================
PlayUlty.Com
Educational and lifestyle products for Ultimate Frisbee.
http://www.playulty.com
========================
Flip
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 3



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2007, 11:48:33 PM »

Depending on how serious the contact is I might call that a dangerous play on the D.  Otherwise if it were me I would call it clean since the D got there first to make a play on the disc.  Whether it's macked shouldn't matter because that's (usually) not something you can control.
Logged
Stepan
Newbie
*

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Czech Republic Czech Republic

Posts: 15



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2007, 04:13:17 AM »

Depending on how serious the contact is I might call that a dangerous play on the D.  Otherwise if it were me I would call it clean since the D got there first to make a play on the disc.  Whether it's macked shouldn't matter because that's (usually) not something you can control.

As the WFDF rules say: "Making a play for the disc" is not a valid excuse for initiating contact with other players.
If the disc is caught or clearly blocked by the defender the initiated contact should be tolerated. If, however, there is a chance for the ofender to continue playing on the disc and he/she can´t do so because of the defender's contact I would call that a clear foul.

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Del.icio.us Digg FURL FaceBook Stumble Upon Reddit SlashDot Google Bookmarks Ma.gnolia MSN Live Squidoo Yahoo My Web     Bookmark  |  Print  
 
Facebook Comments

Jump to:  






Advertise on UT!



Register your FREE UltiTalk.Com account to remove these ads!
Change language to English Change language to Brazilian Change language to Chinese-Simplified Change language to Danish Change language to Dutch Change language to English Change language to Finnish Change language to French Change language to German Change language to Greek Change language to Hebrew Change language to Hungarian Change language to Indonesian Change language to Italian Change language to Japanese Change language to Norwegian Change language to Polish Change language to Portuguese Change language to Romanian Change language to Russian Change language to Spanish Change language to Swedish Change language to Thai Change language to Turkish Change language to Ukranian Change language to Vietnamese

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
UltiTalk.Com is the #1 forum and bulletin board for talking about, chatting about and discussing Ultimate Frisbee.
Please help spread the word to promote an international community of Ultimate Frisbee players, coaches and teachers.


Site Design By MWM Consulting, Inc. MWM Consulting, Inc.



Google last visited this page March 07, 2020, 12:38:35 AM
SimplePortal 2.1.1